Nancy Lindborg, General (Ret) John Allen Brief Staffers on Iraq, Syria, and the Struggle Against ISIS

Nancy Lindborg, President of the United States Institute of Peace, and General (Ret.) John Allen, former Special Presidential Envoy for the Global Coalition to Counter ISIL, discussed the unfolding events in Iraq and Syria. Ms. Lindborg and General Allen also discussed military and humanitarian efforts used to counter the Islamic State.

General (Ret.) John Allen

John R. Allen is a retired U.S. Marines four-star general and former commander of the International Security Assistance Force in Afghanistan. Prior to joining Brookings, Allen commanded the NATO International Security Assistance Force and United States Forces in Afghanistan from July 2011 to February 2013. Most recently, he served as the Obama administration’s special presidential envoy for the global coalition to counter ISIL.
Allen’s command of the 150,000 U.S. and NATO forces in Afghanistan occurred at a particularly critical period in the war. During his command, he recovered the 33,000 U.S. surge forces, moved the Afghan National Security Forces into the lead for combat operations, and pivoted NATO forces from being a conventional combat force into an advisory command.During his nearly 38-year military career, Allen served in a variety of command and staff positions in the Marine Corps and the Joint Force.

Nancy Lindborg

Nancy Lindborg is the President of the United States Institute of Peace, an independent institution founded by Congress to provide practical solutions for preventing and resolving violent conflict around the world. Prior to joining USIP, she served as the assistant administrator for the Bureau for Democracy, Conflict and Humanitarian Assistance (DCHA) at USAID. She was also the President of Mercy Corps, and has held a number of leadership and board positions including serving as co-president of the Board of Directors for the U.S. Global Leadership Coalition; co-founder and board member of the National Committee on North Korea; and chair of the Sphere Management Committee.