Protecting U.S. Security, Upholding American Values

The United States detainee interrogation policy can live up to American values and, at the same time, protect our national security. This policy, supported by overwhelmingly bipartisan legislation in 2005, states: “No individual in the custody or under the physical control of the U.S. Government, regardless of nationality or physical location, shall be subject to cruel, inhuman, or degrading treatment or punishment.”* Such principles can be attained by following the U.S. Army Field Manual on Human Intelligence Collector Operations. We believe these lawful, humane, and effective techniques will produce actionable intelligence while adhering to our founding principles.

To ensure the integrity of this critical process, Congress should conduct effective, real-time oversight on America’s intelligence communities. Failure to live up to these internal safeguards adversely affects the nation’s security and damages America’s reputation in the world.

* Detainee Treatment Act of 2005



Richard Armitage, Deputy Secretary of State 2001-2005
Howard Berman, U.S. Congressman (D-CA) 1983-2013
David Boren, U.S. Senator (D-OK), 1979-1994, Governor of Oklahoma, 1975-1979
Harold Brown, Secretary of Defense 1977-1981
David Durenberger, U.S. Senator (R-MN) 1978-1995
Lee Hamilton, U.S. Congressman (D-IN) 1965-1999
Gary Hart, U.S. Senator (D-CO) 1975-1987
Rita Hauser, Chair, International Peace Institute 1992-Present
Carla Hills, U.S. Trade Representative 1989-1993
Thomas Kean, Governor of New Jersey 1982-1990, 9/11 Commission Chairman
Richard C. Leone, Senior Fellow and Former President of The Century Foundation
Carl Levin, U.S. Senator (D-MI) 1979-2015
Richard Lugar, U.S. Senator (R-IN) 1977-2013
Robert C. McFarlane, National Security Advisor 1983-1985
Donald McHenry, Ambassador to the United Nations 1979-1981
William Perry, Secretary of Defense 1994-1997
Charles Robb, U.S. Senator (D-VA) 1989-2001, Governor of Virginia 1982-1986
Ken Salazar, Secretary of the Interior 2009-2013, U.S. Senator (D-CO) 2005-2009
George Shultz, Secretary of State 1982-1989
John E. Sununu, U.S. Senator (R-NH) 2003-2009
William H. Taft IV, Deputy Secretary of Defense 1984-1989